My Secret Happy Place

There’s a particular spot on this great big blue and green planet of ours that holds a special place in my heart. When I’m there I can’t help but feel content. There’s something about it that is simply great for my soul. It’s truly my very own secret happy place.

When I’m there I’m filled with generous portions of joy, peace and serenity all at once. It’s the place I feel closest to God and it’s a place where I’ve experienced significant personal milestones and created life changing memories. When I’m there, something about it feels like home.

If I want to lift my spirits or get a glimpse of happiness I just need to picture it in my mind or look at a photo I’ve taken there. It’s not a place I can get to easily. In fact I could count the number of times I’ve been there on my hands and still have spare fingers to account for future visits.

It’s not very easy to get to my secret happy place. There’s a bit of a journey required. I don’t live near my secret happy place so the journey starts with a long drive. Once I arrive, there’s a rather challenging hike up a steep mountain. It’s hard work but it’s worth it.

Perhaps that’s one of the things that makes me appreciate it so much. There’s a real sense of anticipation on the climb and a feeling of achievement when you get there. Then there’s the view. Sigh… oh the view. It is simply spectacular. I could stare at it for hours. There’s ocean as far as the eye can see and some of the most picturesque coastline in the world. It’s God’s spectacular creation in all it’s splendour. 

A few years ago I had an opportunity to go to my secret happy place with a group of work colleagues. When we returned one of my colleagues said to me “You had a real spiritual experience up there didn’t you? There was almost 20 people there and somehow you were there all on your own.”

Another time when I was camping with friends at the bottom of the mountain, I could see my secret happy place from afar. I was so close but at the same time so far. I looked up at my secret happy place on top of the mountain and said to a very good friend of mine “One day I’m going to propose to my future wife up there.”

True to my word, a few years later I found myself down on bended knee in my secret happy place as I proposed to my soul mate. My secret happy place didn’t let me down. As we shared our romantic moment we were surrounded by intimate cloud cover before my secret happy place put on a spectacular show for the two of us. We’ve never seen nature put on such a spectacular performance like we did when the sunset burst through and illuminated the sky above the clouds.

There is no other place like my secret happy place. Nothing compares to sitting on the rocks on top of Mount Oberon at Wilson’s Promontory National Park in Victoria, Australia.

Mt Oberon

Leave a Reply

